h1

Saving Monica

20 February 2008

Stories like this one make me proud to work at this hospital and in this ED. I’m already aware of how much I will miss this place and the environment that is acute care. One of the crazy things about working in a high-profile trauma center is that very often I’ve seen these patients that are in the news — the drunk drivers, the tragic MVAs, the sexual assaults, the stabbings, the pedestrians struck. It’s always interesting, being on this side of what gets reported in the Globe.

I’ve wondered off and on (along with the debate of MD vs. NP, a story for another blog) about whether or not I should’ve chosen Acute Care and if I’ll be bored going into geriatrics/primary/long-term care after two years of fascinating cases in the ED. But the more I think about it, I realize that I’m  just plain excited by everything that has to do with taking care of people. And I think I’ll always be eager to be a part of it.

ps. For another amazing nec fasc story, check out this book by another Boston doc. 

Leave a Reply

