h1

Could use a little good news… anytime…

20 January 2008

Still no word from UW, BC, MGH. 

Yale’s priority deadline for financial aid is Feb 1. So, the FAFSA must be filed by then. But my taxes are kind of complicated because of the two jobs, so I really need to do a lot of that math to complete the FAFSA accurately. But, of course, I don’t have any W-2s or 1099s or anything yet. So I went digging and came up with some numbers on my own, and started doing the 1040 math to get my AGI for the FAFSA. And that’s where it all went to hell.

I don’t make a whole lot at the hospital. Especially relative to the cost of living in the city. I got a raise in May when I switched jobs, but after another two months, our funding was cut and I went down to part-time. Since September, I was just getting by on 24 hours at that job and what I get from the nonprofit for anywhere from 12-20 hours a week. The problem with the nonprofit is that although they pay me the same hourly rate that I get at the hospital, they don’t want to put me on the payroll — meaning that I am then a self-employed independent contractor who’s solely responsible for the full 15% of the federal taxes on my earnings.

So although I made almost exactly the same amount I made last year, since more of it came from the nonprofit, I will pay over a grand more in taxes than I did last year. And since none of that was withheld, I will owe the feds well over 2K, probably a few hundred to the state as well. Needless to say, I don’t have it.  

So much for renewing my gym membership.

Eventually the nausea began to subside and I filed my FAFSA… and was given an EFC of almost 8K! Sure, yeah, right, that seems doable for a single person in school full-time with no assets or savings. Jesus Christ.

The Pats better hang on for the win here, that’s all I gotta say.

Leave a Reply

