h1

Uno!

17 December 2007

Well, I did get an interview at UW. Which took a bit of the edge off the anxiety I’ve been feeling over the last few weeks. Unfortunately, the stress sprung right back as I faced the decision of whether or not to make the $500 trip to Seattle for a single half-hour interview. I assumed that the interview would be a bigger deal — a tour, info session, interview, etc (like I’ve heard UCSF’s and Yale’s are) but that is not the case. It really is a *small* program: last year they only admitted 24 students.

But eek, a half hour? Half a grand and 15 hours of travel…. for 30 minutes of group-applicant agony? Ugh. But the thought of a phone interview just makes me cringe. I’m sure I’d still do okay, but I just know how much more confident I would be in person, seeing my “competition” and interviewers face-to-face. I’ve done enough hiring myself to know how important it is to meet people, no matter what their resume says or how scintillating they are on the phone. I remember one intern applicant I talked up for two weeks, based on her emails, resume, and a fascinating hour-long phone call… She went to Harvard! She was hilarious and knew her shit and we’d be so lucky to snag her! Only to finally interview her in person and be blown away… by what a disappointment she was.

So, that’s it, I’m going. I don’t want to get the rejection letter and wonder, “Was it because of the phone interview?” And ultimately, I really want to see Seattle. If I’m going to suffer through Orgo and Human Anatomy this spring, I’m going to need serious motivation. If I go there and hate it, I won’t have to bother.

Unless, of course, I don’t get any other interview invites.
Sorry, that’s my ulcer talking.

Leave a Reply

